

Norman Allen, Chairman Kirk R. Fjelstul, Executive Director

Counties Served: Butts, Carroll, Coweta, Heard, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, Troup and Upson

# TO: PLANNING AND PROJECTS COMMITTEE

FROM: MR. CURTIS BROWN, JR., CHAIRMAN, PLANNING AND PROJECTS COMMITTEE THREE RIVERS REGIONAL COMMISSION

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF PLANNING AND PROJECTS COMMITTEE MEETING

The Planning and Projects Committee held a meeting at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 27, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was held via a Zoom video/conference call. Committee Chair Curtis Brown, Jr., welcomed the members, called the meeting to order, gave the invocation and led the committee members in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance. The roll call was taken and the following individuals attended:

Planning and Projects Committee Members in Attendance

Ms. Kay Pippin, Mayor, City of Jackson Mr. Greg Wright, Non-Public Member, Coweta County Mr. Lee Boone, Chair, Heard County Mr. Douglas Hollberg, Mayor, City of Griffin Mr. Curtis Brown, Jr., Non-Public Member, Troup County Mr. Norman Allen, Chair, Upson County

Additional Three Rivers Council Members in Attendance

Mr. Terry Nolan, Non-Public Member, Butts County Mr. Dustin Koritko, Council, City of Newnan Ms. Charlene Glover, Mayor, City of Greenville Ms. Gwen Flowers-Taylor, Chair, Spalding County Ms. Hannah Ellington, Non-Public Member, Upson County

Guest in Attendance

Mr. George Emami, Commissioner, Monroe County

## Staff Present

Mr. Kirk Fjelstul, Executive Director
Ms. Peggi Tingle, Administrative Services Director
Ms. Amanda Turner, Deputy Administrative Services Director
Ms. Kim Bennett, Senior Accounting Technician, Administrative Services
Ms. Hope Blakely, HR Manager
Ms. Jan Perez, Secretary, Administrative Services
Ms. Jeannie Brantley, Planning Director

Ms. Kim Dutton, Planner
Mr. Paul Jarrell, Planner
Ms. Pavielle Ludlow, Transit Program Manager
Ms. Stephanie Glenn, Director, Workforce Development
Ms. Stephanie Matthews, Deputy Workforce Development Director
Ms. Kedra Banning, Youth Services Manager, Workforce Development
Mr. Manuel Cadena, Youth Career Facilitator, Workforce Development
Ms. Sherrielle Goodson, Youth Career Facilitator, Workforce Development
Mr. Gene Herriott, Youth Career Facilitator, Workforce Development
Mr. Forrest Johnson, Youth Career Facilitator, Workforce Development
Mr. Danny Mitchell, Business Services Manager, Workforce Development
Ms. Ali Robinson, Youth Career Facilitator, Workforce Development

## APPROVAL OF JUNE 25, 2020 MINUTES (action item)

Committee Chair Brown asked for a motion to approve the minutes for the June 25, 2020 meeting. Ms. Kay Pippin made the motion to approve the June 25, 2020 meeting minutes; it was seconded by Mr. Greg Wright and carried unanimously.

## APPROVAL OF AGENDA (action item)

Committee Chair Brown asked the committee for a motion regarding the agenda's approval. Mr. Terry Nolan made the motion to approve the meeting's agenda; it was seconded by Ms. Pippin and carried unanimously.

## BROADBAND TASK FORCE

Mr. Paul Jarrell presented this portion of the agenda. Mr. Jarrell introduced Mr. George Emami, Commissioner with the Monroe County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Emami discussed the Broadband SPLOST Project in Monroe County. Commissioner Emami also participated in a brief question and answer session. Ms. Brantley and Committee Chair Brown thanked Commissioner Emami for his presentation.

# ADOPTION OF RESOLUTION FOR REGIONAL PLAN IMPLEMENTATION PROGRAM ANNUAL REPORT (action item)

Ms. Jeannie Brantley presented this portion of the agenda. She reminded the committee that the Regional Plan Implementation Program Annual Report was submitted to the Department of Community Affairs (DCA) for their review; DCA has completed their review and approved the Regional Plan Implementation Program Annual Report. The next step is for the plan to be adopted by the council. FORMAL ACTION: Committee Chair Brown asked the committee for a motion to adopt the resolution. Mr. Wright made the motion to adopt the resolution for the Regional Plan Implementation Program Annual Report; it was seconded by Ms. Pippin. Committee Chair Brown asked if there was any discussion. Hearing none, he called for the vote and the motion passed unanimously.

## CENSUS UPDATE

Ms. Brantley presented this portion of the agenda as well. She advised everyone that the self-response phase deadline is now September 30, 2020. Several communities in our region are sponsoring events to promote the Census and to encourage residents to attend and complete their responses at these activities.

## EDA CARES PROJECT

Ms. Brantley advised the members that the Planning Department submitted an application with the Economic Development Administration (EDA) several months ago. The EDA recently notified Ms. Brantley and Mr. Kirk Fjelstul that TRRC's application was approved and that we will receive \$310,000. Ms. Brantley advised that we have two (2) years to use these funds. She also advised that TRRC would create a staff position (Economic Development Specialist) for this two (2) year period. The specialist will assist local member governments with economic recovery projects in affected areas. Ms. Brantley would like to have the staff member in place by mid-October.

## OTHER BUSINESS

There was nothing mentioned under this portion of the agenda.

## DATE AND LOCATION OF NEXT MEETING

Committee Chair Brown advised that the Planning and Projects Committee will meet on Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 11:00 a.m.; more details will follow.

## ADJOURNMENT

Committee Chair Brown adjourned the meeting after receiving a motion from Ms. Pippin and a second from Mr. Wright.

Curtis Brown, Jr., Chairman Planning and Projects Committee